Day 5 Juicing/Smoothie Diet

Glowing Green Ingredients

It was difficult to get up this morning and my legs were extremely tired. However, I’d already committed to running with my friend, Jill, so up I got at 5:00 am. We again did the Body for Life workout I talked about here.
This was tough, I was pretty physically tired, but I still managed to make it through the workout.

Last night I made the smoothies for today and really changed it up. I found 2 recipes online that I wanted to try in order to get some more protein and more fat as well as some more greens. Here are the recipes along with the changes I made:

Today’s Recipes:

Favorite Green blender
From the Minimalistbaker.com which she titles:
Favorite Green Smoothie
1 medium banana, previously peeled, frozen and quartered – (I didn’t have any frozen so I just used a room temperature banana)
1/2 cup mixed frozen berries
1 Tbsp flaxseed meal (I didn’t have any on hand so I left this out)
1 heaping Tbsp natural, salted peanut butter
½ -3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I only had vanilla flavored so that’s what I used)
2 cups fresh spinach

From krystaslifeinfood.com
Glowing Green Smoothie
2 servings

3/4 cucumber, diced (I used ½ a cucumber b/c I already had one cut up)
2 stalks celery, diced
1 huge handful flat-leaf parsley (about 3/4 cup)
4 1/2 cups spinach
juice from 1 1/2 lemons, (if lemons are very juicy, you may only need one)
1 avocado
1 scant tablespoon sea salt (himalayan pink salt, or Celtic, preferably) (As this seemed like WAY too much, I used less than a teaspoon and still think it was way too much – not sure why you’d want this much sea salt)
2 scallions or green onion, roughly chopped (I didn’t have any so I left these out)
2 cups water
7 ice cubes (ended up adding more because I was trying to cut down the salty taste)
– I also added in ¾ cup of mixed berries and then a mango b/c the salt was still too much

Glowing green blender
For breakfast I drank the Glowing Green Smoothie. I found it while searching for a smoothie with an avocado in the recipe and thought it sounded really good will all the greens although I was a little nervous about adding the salt. I have no idea why it calls for a little less than a tablespoon of sea salt because I used less than a teaspoon and still thought it was way too much. If I make this again, I’d probably leave it out completely and then maybe add a little in if I felt like it was needed. The fruit I added helped, but I’m still not very happy with this recipe. I was able to drink it an the flavor was fine besides the saltyness.

At lunch I drank the Favorite Green Smoothie which was awesome! There were 3 items in here that I haven’t had so far in my smoothies: peanut butter, banana, and almond milk and they were so good! I’m hoping the extra calories, fat and protein will help me have a little more energy for my workouts.

Jif PBI used Jif Natural Peanut Butter because that’s what we had. I realize it’s not that natural, but I figure it’s better than the regular kind and my husband likes it so this way we don’t have to buy 2 different kinds of peanut butter. My preferred peanut butter is the Trader Joes salted version – once you mix it up, you don’t normally have to do it again. However, about ¾ of the way through the jar, I feel like it is too dry. To remedy this, I take it out of the fridge and leave it on the counter for a few hours so it will separate out a little and then I mix it up again and it seems more like it did when I first purchased the product. If you haven’t tried it yet, I highly recommend it.

Peach Pie Ingredients

I made the peach pie delight from the Reboot plan but without the sweet potato because I hadn’t baked any yet.  This time I remembered to add a dash of cinnamon which added a nice touch.  Just remember that you don’t need much.   The recipe made about 1 1/2 servings so I shared the 1/2 portion with my Matt.

Peach Pie glassToday was a little more difficult as I was craving some solid food and thinking about what I want to eat next Wednesday.  However, knowing I’m halfway through has helped.  Again, I’m not hungry so all is well.  I can’t believe it’s been 5 days – 50% COMPLETE!

This entry was posted in Smoothie, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

