Day 4 Juice/Smoothie Diet

5:30 am – wake up and think to myself, maybe I set the alarm for 3:30 instead of 5:30 because I’m way too tired for it to be 5:30 am already.  As I’m sure you guessed, it was in fact 5:30 am and time to get up.

6 am – Barre class which was considerably harder today.  I felt drained and I attribute it mostly to the diet, but partially to working out twice yesterday and having done barre class less than 12 hours earlier.

7am – So glad that I made the smoothies last night!  It made my morning so much easier.  Here are the smoothies for today:

Fruit Salad Smoothie

Vitamix Fruit Salad Smoothie: (for breakfast and afternoon snack)

½ cup green grapes

1 orange, peeled, halved, seeded

½ inch thick slice pineapple, core included, halved (I used some canned pineapple)

½ cup peeled and chopped cucumber (I just used half a peeled cucumber)

1 medium carrot, halved

¼ medium apple, seeded (I used half a small apple)

2 cups ice cubes

Garden Green 

Vitamix Garden Green Smoothie: (for lunch and dinner)

¼ cup water

1 orange, peeled, halved, seeded (I used 2 oranges)

1 celery stalk, halved

1 small carrot, halved

1 green apple, cored, quartered

½ medium zucchini, cut into large chunks (I used a cucumber because I didn’t have a zucchini)

1 cup romaine lettuce

1 cup kale, spine removed

½ cup parsley leaves

2 cups ice cubes

For both recipes, these are the instructions:

  1. Place all ingredients into the VItamix container in the order listed and secure lid
  2. Select Smoothie program
  3. Switch machine to Start and allow machine to complete programmed cycle, using the tamper to press the ingredients into the blade

I ran both mixtures through 2 Smoothie cycles to get it a little more liquefied.

The Fruit Salad Smoothie was really good and tasted more like my all fruit smoothies which isn’t a surprise since it’s mostly made up of fruit.

CocoZona Front

10:45am – CocoZona Coconut Water – I don’t know if there’s much of a different taste between this one and the Vita Coconut Water, but I do feel like the aluminum can gives off a slight flavor – not bad, but I think it’s noticeable.  According to the packaging, they say the benefits of coconut water are the following:

More Potassium than a whole banana

Nature’s perfect sports drink with 5 essential electrolytes: potassium, magnesium, sodium, calcium, and phosphorus

No fat, cholesterol, and no added sugar

Supports rapid hydration – faster than water

I hear that coconut water is good for hangovers because of helping against dehydration.  I wish I would have known about this in my 20’s.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had a hangover so I can’t say whether or not it works.  It does make me feel more awake after drinking it, that’s all I can tell you.  In my opinion it’s probably an acquired taste, but I actually really like it now.  I feel like I enjoy it more after the first or second sip for some reason.

CocoZona Back

12:15 pm – Vitamix Garden Green Smoothie time.  It’s pretty good, I’m glad I added the extra orange because I feel like any of these green smoothies are a little hard to pallet without some sweetness added.  Maybe I’ll adjust, but I’d rather add a little extra fruit then force myself to gulp down a nasty tasting smoothie.  I also find that it’s harder to get the greens to be liquefied so I think next time after I use the Smoothie setting I’ll switch it over to the Puree setting to get a more liquid form of it.

3:00 pm – As my co-workers were bringing out the cupcakes and cake for an office birthday I decided it was time for my afternoon smoothie.  To be honest, it wasn’t hard to turn down the cupcakes as I’m not really hungry.  I feel like my energy level is really good and they drinks taste good so it has been much easier than I thought to stick to this diet.  I haven’t decided what I’ll do after the 10 days.  Part of me wants to go crazy with a big, fatty meal and part of me wants to continue on longer.  I think no matter what, after this is over, I’ll continue to have a smoothie for at least 1 if not 2 meals a day until I’m at my ideal body weight and maybe even longer.  I like getting the extra fruits and vegetables into my diet and how it’s making me feel.

I’ve been wondering if I’m not feeling hungry because I’m not taking in all that processed sugar you find in our everyday items like bread.  I think all the fiber I’m in taking is also helping reduce hunger urges.  I’ll need to make sure I increase my calcium and iron consumption over the next few days, because I don’t think I’ve had enough recently.  More greens it is!

My Hunger is different than cravings.  I’ve noticed that although I’m not hungry, I’m craving some food.  Walking through the cafeteria at work and smelling all the food has me wanting something solid to eat and for some reason I’m craving some rice and beans as well as pizza.  However, the craving isn’t so strong that it’s making me think about it all the time, it just passes by almost as quickly as it came.

7:30 pm – Drink the other half of my Garden Green Smoothie.  Craving peanuts, but I’m relatively satisfied with the smoothie.  I think I might add an avocado to my smoothies tomorrow to get some extra fat/calories.  We’ll see what I come up with tonight while looking over recipes.

8:30 pm – Drink the rest of the Peach Pie Delight smoothie and start preparing my smoothies for tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

