Day 1 Juice Diet

Of all days to choose for my first day of no solid foods, I chose a day where we went to a 1 year old’s birthday party.  I originally thought that starting on Sunday would be good b/c it would allow me the time to test out the Vitamix, try the recipes, etc.  I was correct in thinking this, but watching everyone comment on how good the cake was and how wonderful the homemade ice cream tasted wasn’t so fun.  I have to say, it wasn’t as hard as i thought, probably because it’s only day 1.

I had already purchased all my groceries yesterday and spent about $150 total.  However, this included other items not part of the juicing.  My guess is that I spent about $100 on juicing supplies.  I wasn’t able to go to our farmer’s market, but I’ll make sure to do that next week.

I started my morning with what I thought would be a nasty cup of hot water.  Reboot  recommends starting the day with hot water, ginger, and lemon.  I was surprised that this actually tasted pretty good.  Now keep in mind, that I am one who likes sweets.  I put sweeteners in tea, coffee, etc. and don’t really like unsweetened drinks so I was happy to find out that this drink was actually good.

The first drink is called Carrot Apple Ginger Juice and since I wasn’t juicing it, but rather I was blending it, I thought I could maybe cut the recipe in half.  I cut the carrots and apples in half, but forgot to cut the ginger so my first taste was a bit of a sting with all that ginger.  To remedy this, I put the rest of the carrot and apple into the blender.  The Vitamix was amazing and did a great job of turning these items into a smoothie, but next time I would probably blend it one more time so it would be more of a liquid than smoothie consistency.  I would also cut back one carrot and definitely cut back on the ginger.  I’ll let you know how that goes.  Sorry, I don’t have pictures, I’ll try to get more of these up tomorrow.

Photo Aug 18, 1 25 26 PM

Sorry for the half full glass, but I realized that I hadn’t taken a photo of anything so I figured, better something than nothing.

The second drink is called Joe’s Mean Green and includes 6 kale leaves, 2 cucumbers, 2 celery sticks, 1 green apple, 1/2 lemon, and ginger.  After tasting it, I added an orange and a red apple which definitely helped the flavor.  I forgot to add the ginger, and this made about 3-4 servings vs. the 2 that it claims it would make if I were just juicing.  My husband, Matt, tried it and actually liked it.  In fact, he wanted some more later in the day.

While I was at the birthday party, I had a small headache, and was getting a little tired, but once I got home and drank a coconut water, I felt much better.  I didn’t work out today, but my energy level feels about the same as it normally would.  Tomorrow morning, I’m taking a Flybarre class with FlyWheel Sports so hopefully that isn’t harder than normal.

The hardest part of the day was around 5pm when I was a little hungry and wanted some solid food.  However, after another helping of Joe’s Mean Green juice, my hunger went away.  So far so good, but I can tell this is going to get tough.  As Matt and I always say, “Eye of the Tiger”.  This won’t be easy but nothing that’s worthwhile is easy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

